The CACME awards recognize best practices—ideas or processes that can be implemented by CACME members. Individuals may nominate their own projects/processes for these awards.  


Award Categories


  • Outstanding CME Activity- The design should address identified practice gaps and learning needs of the target audience, be interactive, apply adult learning principles, and facilitate assessment of Level 3 or higher outcomes in terms of competence, performance or patient outcomes.


  • Best Practice in Collaboration– Activities could include policies or procedures to facilitate collaboration or a unique way to collaborate, or illustrate partnership with a nontraditional stakeholder for continuing medical education purposes. Please Note: A jointly provided activity relationship in and of itself does not demonstrate collaboration; active engagement in collaborative and cooperative projects is expected.


  • Best Practice in Research– Activities could include staff development activities or personal professional development plans; they could also include training for commercial supporters or other stakeholders. Activities should be interactive and based on adult learning principles.


  • Ted Lewis Lifetime Achievement Award- This award will recognize an individual who has strong ties to CACME and is either a current or past CACME member, or someone who is/was supportive of CME. It is anticipated that someone other than the nominee will nominate him or her.

Winners Receive

  • Plaque naming the winning individual or organization and the award category
  • Posting on CACME website, press release

  Requirements for Submitters

  • Submitter must be a CACME member
  • There is no restriction on the number of nominations that may be submitted by any individual.
  • There is no restriction on the number of nominators that may write nomination letters or that may sign a single nomination letter on behalf of a candidate.

  Requirements for Nominees other than the Ted Lewis Award:

  • Nominated activity or project must be:
    • Innovative and creative
    • Based on evidence of adult learning
    • In compliance with all relevant regulations/guidelines
    • Broadly applicable to other CACME members (as well as the CME community at large)
  • One or more CACME-member(s) must be involved in the planning and execution of the project to be considered.
  • Nominees agree that their winning ideas may be shared with CACME members and such ideas may be posted on the CACME website, in CACME publications, or presented to CACME Members.
  • Ongoing activities are eligible for submission.
  • The Awards Committee will not consider nominations that do not conform to the awards criteria and requirements.

Nomination Process The following materials must be submitted for nomination to be considered:

  1. Nomination form which includes:
  • An overall brief description of the candidates project (no longer than 2 pages) using the following outline as a guide:
    • Concise description of the body of work/project components or features.
    • How the project/individual has or will impact CME and healthcare
    • The projected long term benefits and sustainability of the individual’s contributions
    • Summary statement of nominee’s contribution/accomplishments
  1. Candidate’s Bio (or CV if no bio available); required for Ted Lewis Award
  2. Optional: Project attachments (limit 2). Attachments may include articles, forms, photos, documents, etc.



Selection Process

  • The Awards Committee will consider all nominations. After thorough review, recommendations will be forwarded to the CACME Executive Committee for final evaluation. Selection of the Ted Lewis Award recipient will be made on the basis of: the candidate’s significant fundamental contributions to CME (whether in research, leadership or mentorship); the lasting impact of these contributions on CME; and the demonstration of a lifetime commitment to progress of improving physician practices.


  • The Awards Committee and the Executive Committee will maintain fairness in their decision making.


  • The Awards Committee encourages all nominees to be present at the awards ceremony at the annual CACME meeting.

The Awards Committee and the Executive Committee reserves the right to forego naming a recipient for each award noted above in any given year.